Farmers in 3 mid-Michigan counties in line for federal help

(WLNS) – Farmers and ranchers in Ingham, Jackson and Livingston counties may qualify for natural disaster assistance if they encountered agricultural damage caused by a frost in May.

According to our media partners at WHMI, on Tuesday, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) issued a release declaring those three counties as natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by frost and freeze that occurred May 7th through the 9th of this year.

Several other counties will qualify for assistance as well because they are contiguous.

All qualified farm operators in the designated areas are eligible for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans, provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

More from WHMI: USDA Designates Livingston County As Primary Natural Disaster Area

We welcome thoughts and comments from our viewers. We ask that everyone keep their remarks civil and respectful. Postings that contain profanity, racist, or potentially libelous remarks will be deleted. We will delete any commercial postings, as well.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s