Nominees Announced For New World Video Game Hall of Fame

ROCHESTER, N.Y. (AP) – Fifteen video games that have engrossed gamers for untold hours have been named finalists for the new World Video Game Hall of Fame.

The nominees were announced Tuesday at The Strong museum in Rochester, where the hall will be located alongside the National Toy Hall of Fame.

They are: Angry Birds, Doom, FIFA soccer, the Legend of Zelda, Minecraft, the Oregon Trail, Pac-Man, Pokemon, Pong, the Sims, Sonic the Hedgehog, Space Invaders, Super Mario Bros., Tetris and World of Warcraft.

An international selection committee made up of journalists, scholars and other video game experts will cull the list for the inaugural class, to be inducted June 4.

The Strong says it received thousands of nominations since announcing creation of the hall earlier this year.

We welcome thoughts and comments from our viewers. We ask that everyone keep their remarks civil and respectful. Postings that contain profanity, racist, or potentially libelous remarks will be deleted. We will delete any commercial postings, as well.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s