Conference Committees Named In Road Funding Talks

LANSING, Mich. (AP) – Michigan legislative leaders have named four Republicans and two Democrats to serve on House-Senate conference committees that will consider competing road funding bills in the final week of the session.

The three House members are Republicans Jim Stamas of Midland and Rob VerHeulen of Walker, and Democrat Marilyn Lane of Fraser.

The three Senate members are Republicans Arlan Meekhof of West Olive and Mike Kowall of White Lake, and Democrat Jim Ananich of Flint.

The conference committees could begin meeting as early as Monday. The last day of session is next Thursday.

The Senate voted to more than double Michigan’s 19-cents-a-gallon gas tax over four years. The House voted to gradually repeal the 6 percent sales tax at the pump and increase the gas tax by an equivalent amount.

We welcome thoughts and comments from our viewers. We ask that everyone keep their remarks civil and respectful. Postings that contain profanity, racist, or potentially libelous remarks will be deleted. We will delete any commercial postings, as well.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s